A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

A few days ago a friends on facebook posted lyrics to the  Thankfulness Song – of course the song instantly stuck in my head and next thing you know I’m humming it, singing it, and really wishing it would leave. : ) But a person can’t help but think about what they have when those words stream through the internal speakers of the mind.

So despite what I may say sometimes I’m going to tell you now some of the things I’m thankful for. Hopefully if I’m more open with my thankfulness, then my children will be as well.

I am incredibly thankful for my husband. He has an amazing level of patience and understanding. He’s also kind, caring, considerate and funny. You can even tell him I said so.

I’m thankful for three healthy wonderful little girls who light up my life and show me each day how narrow my view is and how wonderful the world can be.

I’m thankful we live in a place where women and girls are treated respectfully.

I’m thankful for the amazing opportunities we’re able to give our children, fun classes, safe places to play, a chance to grow our own food, see wildlife, and live in freedom.

I’m thankful for the wonderful neighbours we have. We’ve moved into a new home and it’s wonderful to see a smiling face every time our paths cross.

I’m thankful for the many styles of parenting out there. I learn something from every single person/family I encounter and nothing is more valuable.

I’m thankful for the group of Mommies/families we’ve began spending time with recently. Their knowledge is invaluable and even as it’s nice to meet people of differing views it’s empowering and refreshing to meet others whos basic views are the same.

I’m thankful for the free time I have to write.

I’m thankful to live in a world where books are so readily available, I know not everyone has access to a library and many don’t even own books, yet I can read about any topic I choose.

I’m thankful for the abundance we have that allows me to stay home while my children are small. Sacrifices are made, but what our family receives in return are worth much more than we could possibly give up.

I’m thankful for the opportunity to homeschool our children.

I’m thankful for friends with animals, especially dogs. I will be even more thankful when we start visiting those friends (and said dogs) more often.

I’m thankful we have little girls who accept our refusal to get a dog (for now).

I want you to know I’m thankful. I hope to show that more often in my day to day life. It’s a work in progress, but I’m trying.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “A Thankful Heart is a Happy Heart

  1. Sarah, you are wonderful!

    I am thankful to have found a friend who speaks her mind (I love debates and hashing things out with another strong mind and her OWN opinions!!!), who is a wonderful mother, has a nurturing spirit, isn’t afraid of what others think and has a loving soul.

    I am also thankful that one of my oldest buds has found you!!

    You are amazing, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

