Gluten-Free Churros

Two of the things I miss most since going gluten-free are cinnamon-sugar pretzels and churros. It’s a toss up which I miss most, but now I’ve found a fast, easy, gluten-free recipe that almost makes up for my not being able to eat my favorite treats while at Disney World. So for father’s day I decided to make my wonderful husband these:


 

1/2 C. mashed potatoes (mashed with butter and milk)

1/4 C. sugar

1 egg

1/2 C. sour cream

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 C. all purpose GF flour mix

1/2 tsp guar (or xanthan) gum

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

oil for deep frying

cinnamon-sugar (we prefer it mixed 1:2 ratio) or you can use confectioners sugar

 

In a large bowl, combine potatoes, sugar, egg, sour cream, and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients, mix well, then stir into potato mixture.

Heat oil in an electric skillet or deep fryer at 375F. Or if you’re more basic, like me, fill a heavy saucepan about half-full with oil, then using a deep-frying thermometer, heat to 375. Fill a piping bag, with a large tip affixed, and pipe small strips of batter into oil. Be sure to keep your tip close to the oil so there’s less risk of splatter.

Fry until golden-brown on all sides, about four seconds. Drain on paper towels, roll in sugar while still warm.

Serve warm and enjoy.

I’ve tried dropping by the teaspoonful into the oil, but couldn’t get the center cooked before the outside burned, piping certainly resulted in the tastiest treat.

2 Comments

Filed under Gluten-free

2 responses to “Gluten-Free Churros

  1. What could I use in place of sour cream? Poor Haley and not being able to have dairy! How do I follow your blog?

    • give me a couple days to try to figure it out – maybe next week – I have a couple ideas, but have to test them first. I’ve added an RSS feed below my picture, or there’s e-mail sign-up, your choice.

Leave a Reply

