The Hills Untied Their Bonnets

I’m not sure who enjoyed our day more, the girls or me.

We took a walk to the wetland in the next neighbourhood over to see what we could see. As we arrived we saw four white pelicans fly overhead. Living in a landlocked province, they’re more common than you might realize, but we still don’t see them very often. As we approached the first pond we saw a Red-Breasted Merganser, though I’m afraid my picture doesn’t do him justice. Later we saw one sitting on a nest, I could have gotten a gorgeous picture, unfortunatley my camera ran out of batteries AND my SD card was full. lol

As we crossed the bridge and came to the look-out we saw red-winged black birds. Both male and female birds actively protected their nest. The male dived at Ella as she came too close to their reeds.

Next we saw an American Coot family with seven little chicks. I was very excited. I’d never seen a coot before, only heard of them. Now I know what they look like. We also met an older couple who told us they always called them Diving Devils, and had never heard them called coots before.

We also saw two muskrats fishing and a pair of Canada Geese and a mallard family with eleven ducklings. The girls liked them best. I think it’s because they’ve seen them before and knew what they were on their own. There were also Purple Martins, we all thought they were gorgeous birds.

Ella found a snail shell and checked out the different reeds. She noticed the difference between the fresh green reeds, the tall brown reeds, and the reeds piled along the shore. She waded into the muck to see what she could find, though without a net or jar she didn’t find much.

We stopped to smell the wild roses and admire the tiny blue flowers we determined, with the help of the older couple, must be flax. The girls saw a bush covered in rose hips and wanted to know all about them.

The girls are looking forward to going back next week to see what else we might find.I’m looking forward to getting more pictures. In parting here’s my favorite shot for the day and one of my favorite poems, our day reminded me of it for so many reasons.

I’ll tell you how the sun rose,–
A ribbon at a time.
The steeples swam in amethyst,
The news like squirrels ran.
The hills untied their bonnets,
The bobolinks begun.
And I said softly to myself,
“That must have been the sun!”

But how he set, I know not.
There seemed a purple stile
With little yellow boys and girls
Climbing all the while
Till they reached the other side,
A dominie in gray
Put gently up the evening bars,
And led the flock away.

– Emily Dickinson

(From memory, forgive any mistakes in wording)

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under unschooling

One response to “The Hills Untied Their Bonnets

  1. Great final shot and an awesome poem. Sounds like a magnificent day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

