Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana

One of the greatest days as a parent has arrived. Our little girl discovered Knock Knock jokes! Ella’s spent hours telling joke after joke. Of course most of them are absolute nonsense, but the gigantic grin on her face means we laugh and love. Who wouldn’t? Though she has come up with one or two that we’re actually impressed with.

Knock, Knock

Who’s there?

Stiple.

Stiple who?

Stipleback!

Her favorite joke right now is one I taught her. Yep that one. The one everyone hates. Particularly if you have a sister, friend, or some random stranger that insists on saying banana a million times.

Knock, Knock.

Who’s There?

Banana

Banana Who?

Knock, knock

Who’s there?

Banana

Knock, Knock…repeat pattern as often as possible before the other person gets annoyed.

Who’s there?

Orange.

Orange who?

Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

Ella only allows us to say banana twice before getting upset. If we don’t follow the pattern she gets confused and then angry. She does NOT like being confused : ) But she loves the joke anyhow and tries to do it to us. I can’t help but laugh and love her even more as she tries each new joke. From the smile on her face I think she loves us even more as well. What more could a parent ask for?

Do you have any good knock, knock jokes, or any other child appropriate jokes to share? I’d love to hear some new ones to share with the girls.

4 Comments

Filed under Parenting

4 responses to “Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana

  1. Jim Stenberg

    I like the one with the punch-line “Dwayne the bath-tub, I’m dwowning.”

    A friend of mine once told me “Ooh, Wanna hear a really good knock-knock joke? OK? You start.”

    The idea being that after he says “Who’s there?” I’d be at a loss for words. But of course I said “Dwayne!”

    So he turns to another friend in frustration, and tries the same joke. The other guy didn’t really know what was going on, but when he was asked “Who’s there,” he too said “Dwayne!”

    Greg was very frustrated. 🙂

    • lol – I can just imagine how frustrated he’d be.

      Ella wasn’t sure about Dwayne at first. The intense look of concentration on her face almost hurt me, but then the light dawned and she fell over laughing. Best age ever.

  2. Chrissy

    My all time favorite knock knock joke:

    Knock knock
    Who’s there?
    Boo
    Boo who?
    Well you don’t have to cry about it.

    I don’t know why but I love that one.

  3. Ella really liked that one! She got it right away.

Leave a Reply

