Make Love Not War…At Home

Is unschooling better than homeschool? Than school?

Yes. For us. For some families. But not for others. For some families unschooling would be a very bad idea. Each family needs to find their own path.

Certain things are required of any path taken in life. In order to send your children to school a certain level of organization is required. A commitment to waking up at the same time most days, and going to bed at the same time. in order to school a family needs to follow certain rules. In order to homeschool at least one parent needs to commit a large portion of time to education. For some homeschoolers a commitmentto sitting down and teaching is also needed.

An unschooling family allows freedoms to everyone – including themselves.

For many people, me, that’s not as easy as it sounds. I have times when I need a lot of control in my life. In order to unschool at all I need to give myself the freedom to allow others to take control. Some days I succeed better than others. Though I know I succeed better at unschooling than I would sending our children to school.

Over the past four and a half years I’ve discovered that if I need the girls to hurry, they go slower. If I want them to keep their voices quiet, they yell loudly. If I need them to be awake at seven, they sleep until I have to carry them to the van. And then they fight tooth and nail to stay home. Some days I maintain a level head and everyone comes out of the situation okay. But more often than not when the girls want something different than I want, the need for them to do as I say increases. Pretty soon a battle ensues.

Some say “Choose your battles wisely.” I prefer not to battle in the first place.

Unschooling allows me the freedom to choose peace over war.

Is there a particular choice you’ve made as a parent that allows you to choose peace? Is there a choice you wish you could make over?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, unschooling

4 responses to “Make Love Not War…At Home

  1. oh my gosh, i am with you on the school thing. we have been sending our oldest (who is almost three) to early head start this year and it has been a nightmare. he doesn’t want to get up, doesn’t want to leave. we are always late. i feel like i must have the only kid out there who isn’t a morning person!

    • Definitely not the only one who’s child isn’t a morning person. For us we discovered we were all much happier and the girls could grow and develop easier when we took away the majority of our rules. Any classes we take are in the afternoon when it’s easier to get out the door.

  2. I made the decision as a parent to chill out. šŸ™‚ There are a lot of things I see other parents getting stressed out over (or I feel myself starting to stress out over before I regroup) that just aren’t worth it. I’m not a stressful person and my daughter doesn’t like being controled so parenting in a traditional way while being a stay at home mom sounded like the perfect storm. By making the decision to chill out I’ve been able to choose peace the vast majority of the time. šŸ™‚

    • There are things I see other parents or myself stressing about and I realize it really isn’t worth it. Being able to see that it isn’t that big of a deal has allowed our family to grow closer together and have more fun when we interact.

Leave a Reply

