Life vs Writing

For various reasons I’m not finding a lot of time or energy to write. A million thoughts spiral through my head, but the ability to sit and type eludes me most days.

To start with, Cordelia eats enough to have passed birth weight by a full pound at two weeks of age. The majority of that eating occurs between the hours of 2400 and 0300. The rest of the night she tends to sleep great, but she still gets up after 3.5 hrs. Perfectly normal, despite what some people may think.

During the day she’s incredibly easy going. Provided she has a full tummy and a dry bum. If she’s dry and full, we put her in the sling or wrap and off we go to chase her bigger, faster sisters.

Speaking of sisters: Agatha now weights the same as Ella. Somewhere between 5 and 10 lbs of solid toddler appeared almost overnight. Ella’s still taller, but she’d better watch out, Agatha’s about to discover she’s not really the ‘little’ sister anymore.

During the day I’m attempting to read “Raising our Children, Raising Ourselves” by Naomi Aldort and I’m planning to read “Siblings without Rivalry” by Adele Faber & Elaine Mazlish. I’ve heard countless positive reviews of both books, and since I’ve read (or tried to read) all the other parenting books recommended I thought I’d try these as well. So far I like Aldort’s book, and believe I will take a few useful suggestions from it.

We also, finally, got a possession date for our new house, which means a lot of time’s been spent trying to get things lined up to move. We’re really crossing our fingers that we find a mover since there’s no other way we’d manage. Also really hoping we sell our current home.

Ryan’s still plugging away at fixing the remnants of the leak we had in the basement the day before Cordelia was born. Almost done. But while he works I’m watching three girls on my own inevitably that means something happens.

Plus we’re still making rounds visiting people. Slowly.

But the biggest reason(s) I’m not writing very much are the sweet baby smiles and the adorable giggles. I just can’t get enough of them, and since her most alert time is when I used to write, she gets priority.

3 Comments

Filed under Parenting

3 responses to “Life vs Writing

  1. Aww, she’s adorable!

Leave a Reply

