A Day in the Sun

I have a confession to make. This may come as a shock to some people, but – I don’t. Like. The. Cold.

I love snow, I enjoy winter sports (I didn’t say I was good at them – so stop laughing), one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen is a hoar frost covered tree against the back drop of a blue sky, every tiny crystal sparkling in the sunlight.

I’m always excited when the first snow flies. I’d be happy if it arrived in September. However, no matter when it actually arrives I’m ready for it to be gone by February. I’m sure you can imagine how happy I’ve been the past few days with temperatures high enough to melt the snow off our roof – and warm enough to entice my darling little beach bums outside.

Okay it took some coaxing. Agatha’s still angry it’s too cold to go outside naked. Ella balks right up until Ryan actually puts his boots on, then she’s right there wondering what’s taking so long.

For the second, third and fourth times this winter the girls have been outside for longer than it takes to dash from the house to the van. They love it! The first day they made a snowman. Or rather watched with varying degrees of interest as Ryan made a snowman. Yesterday they managed to walk around in the snow a bit on their own. Today they climbed mountains, they dug tunnels, they explored the Siberian Steppe.

Through it all Ella is planning which flowers to plant in her garden, which vegetables we need to grow, and is telling Agatha all about what happens when spring arrives.

Tomorrow’s forecast: snow, followed by a week of decreasing temperatures.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Day in the Sun

  1. The weather during late wintern and early spring is such a tease isn’t it? And how wonderful that Ella is ‘teaching’ Agatha!

  2. lol We are blessed with two little teachers in our home. They can both hardly wait until our little dandelion arrives. Agatha wants to teach him/her how to do tummy time, how to sit, crawl etc. : ) Ella loves helping Agatha figure things out. Though I think Agatha would prefer if Ella just let her be most of the time.

Leave a Reply

