Unassisted Childbirth

My husband and I are due with our third baby Feb 12th and are preparing for an unassisted home birth. I am wondering if anyone has information, or personal experience they could share.

I had planned to use a midwife, but that didn’t work out. I am currently seeing an OB, however I have very fast L&Ds (My longest labour was 3 hours from 1st cx to baby).

My first birth experience was not exactly what we wanted, but over all things could have been worse. Our second was a beautiful experience, but also int he hospital, with the same OB I’m seeing now.

Our current concern is that if I go into labour at home, I will not make it to the hospital in time – and I don’t want to deliver on the side of the road. MY OB agrees that delivering at home unassisted would be better than the roadside : ) She also agrees that inducing isn’t a better option.

Obviously she’d prefer me to be at the hospital, but is on board for helping us, in what ever way she can, to have a safe UC. However, as of right now I don’t really know what we should do to prepare.

We don’t really have a plan (other than 911) for what to do if baby is compromised at birth. Both my husband and I know infant CPR, I have my NRP, but my husband doesn’t. We also don’t have things like O2 or bag & mask – we’d hope that there would be minimal wait time in the event we needed an ambulance, but sometimes there is a wait.

Also my husband is working until my due date so there is a possibility I’d be delivering on my own – he works roughly 30 min from home.

I’m not overly concerned about the safety, about the outcome. I actually feel very positive about it, however, I do know that sometimes things happen unexpectedly and want to be as best prepared as possible.

My OB is openly discussing this with us, however I think we both hit the same thought – if something happens, hope that the ambulance arrives quickly.

Any thoughts would be welcomed,

Sarah

 

2 Comments

Filed under pregnancy

2 responses to “Unassisted Childbirth

  1. It’s great to hear about the support your OB is willing to offer! I am a midwife and I had an unassisted birth. I think it’s important to really be on board with all the possible outcomes if you are going to UC. You have to be willing to take full responsibilty. That said, sometimes labors are so fast, like yours may be, and baby’s come on there own terms! In general, the babies that are born quickly do fine — it’s the ones that go through a long labor, or who have been depressed by pain medication or pitocin in labor, that tend to need some help. Room air is also sufficient for resus, as you know from your NRP. If you can get your hands on some pitocin or cytotec for after the birth — just in case — that would be helpful should you have bleeding or placenta issues.

    • Thanks! My husband and I have talked things over numerous times and knowing potential risks and outcomes, we’re willing to accept them. Of course unless this baby decides to take his or her sweet time we’ll have little to no choice on the matter.

      It’s nice to hear from a professional who’s taken this route. I’ve heard many stories from women who’ve chosen this path, but for one reason or another they didn’t look into things that worry me. I don’t know if it’s my background in the nursery, or the fact that I need to have a plan for every possible what if – even if that plan is to sit down and cry – I want to know what to do. Once I’ve satisfied myself that I’ve looked into everything I can, then I will feel like I really can do this without needing to worry about the outcome.

      For what it’s worth the only time I’ve ever dreamed about giving birth, I’ve been at home, and it’s been a great experience. Any other baby dream I have birth is non-existent, I’m just home with a baby.

Leave a Reply

